Kentucky Outstanding Soldier and NCO of the Year announced

Jan. 17, 2010 | By kentuckyguard
[caption id="attachment_431" align="alignleft" width="300" caption="Army Spc. Michael Staley, Ky. Outstanding Soldier of the Year, and Sgt. Ryan Creech, Ky. Outstanding NCO of the Year, stand with Command Sgt. Maj. Michael Wilson, Command Sgt. Maj. for 75th Troop Command after receiving their trophies at Wendell H. Ford Regional Training Center in Greenville, Ky., Jan. 17. (U.S. Army Photo by Staff Sgt. Aaron Hiler, 133rd Mobile Public Affairs Detachment)"] GREENVILLE, Ky. -- Wendell H. Ford Regional Training Center has been the scene of intense competition to win the coveted titles of Kentucky's Outstanding Soldier and NCO of the Year.  After two days of competition and testing, the winners were announced in a ceremony at the headquarters of the 238th Regiment (Combat Arms). Army Spc. Michael Staley, Det. 1, A Co., 206th Engineers, was named as Kentucky's Outstanding Soldier of the Year.  Sgt. Ryan Creech, Det. 2, Ky. MED, was named the Outstanding Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year. "I have no doubt that Spc. Staley and Sgt. Creech will represent the Commonwealth with distinction at both the Region 3 and National Guard Bureau competitions," said State Command Sgt. Maj. Greg Armstrong.  "These Soldiers, as well as the other competitors, are of the highest caliber and bring credit to their Major Commands and the Kentucky National Guard." Ten competitors, four junior enlisted and six non-commissioned officers, were tested in the Army Warrior Tasks, land navigation, the Army Physical Fitness Test, Individual Weapons Qualification, and appeared before a Soldier or NCO of the Board as part of the selection process. "It seems to me that the quality of Soldiers and NCOs we've seen over the past couple of years is getting better and better," said Command Sgt. Maj. Michael Wilson, the Command Sgt. Maj. for the 75th Troop Command.  "This year's competitors have shown themselves to be outstanding, a tribute to their units." This year's competitors include Staff Sgt. Martin Goldey, HHD, Joint Forces Headquarters; Sgt. 1st Class Jeffrey Duguay, 1/238th Field Artillery; Spc. Ryan Richter, A Co., 1204th Aviation Support Bn., Sgt. Paul Brooks, HSC, 1204th  Aviation Support Bn.,Spc.  Tyler Robbins, Weapons Co., 1-149th Infantry; Sgt. 1st Class Michael Ochs, HHC, 149th Maneuver Enhancement Brigade; Spc. Joseph Shabazz, B Battery, 1/623rd Field Artillery; and Sgt. Verne Hockney, HHB, 2/138th Field Artillery. Also named at the ceremony was the Outstanding Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year -- Master Sgt. John Hazlett of the 238th Regiment (Combat Arms).

News Search